Tillamook, Yachats, and the Oregon Coast

We said our goodbyes and left Sandy bound for the coast and a little town called Tillamook.  A cheese fan, I had my hopes on touring the plant and sampling the goods, but I’m not a fan of big crowds, so we ordered up ice cream (Huckleberry, of course) and moved on to the Tillamook Air Museum.

DSCN2904 DSCN2915 DSCN2902

The museum is small and really not worth the entrance fee, but we enjoyed seeing the old planes and WWII posters.  After touring the air museum, we continued on Highway 101 along the Oregon coast to Yachats and an overnight stay at the Fireside Motel.

DSCN3002 DSCN3000 DSCN3005

The Fireside is an older hotel with great rooms, plenty of amenities, and million-dollar views.  After sampling fresh fish at a local restaurant, the hub and I sat on the balcony and watched the sun set.  We retired to the room afterward to a toasty fire and the sounds of the crashing waves. Heaven!

DSCN2940  DSCN2952   DSCN2975

The Oregon Coast trail passes in front of the hotel.  I’m an early riser, so I set off on the trail passing huckleberries and blackberries until reaching an outlet to the beach. I spotted green sea anemone’s clustered in tide pools and got creeped-out by the clacking of the mussels and other shell-fish.  It’s an odd sound.

DSCN2945   DSCN2949  DSCN2960

I hurried back to the hotel with only 30 minutes to pack.  Next, we’re off to Medford for one last hug from the daughter and granddaughter before heading home tomorrow.  The hub decided he’d drive straight through since we have no interest in stopping in California’s heartland. I’ve seen enough agriculture to last a life time.

I’m sorry to see this trip end, Oregon is a beautiful state with plenty to do, but I look forward to planning my next excursion. Where to go next–any suggestions? Happy trails!

Sandra

 

Leave a Reply

