On the Road Again – The Pacific Northwest

The hub and I left Southern California last Saturday, heading north by car to visit family and explore the beautiful state of Oregon. First stop, Lassen National Volcanic Park in Northern California and a 1.5 mile hike on Bumpass Hell to the geothermal area.

.DSCN2495DSCN2494DSCN2533 (2)

After completing the hike, we opted to auto tour the remainder of park. Lassen is one of the NPS smaller parks, so we cruised on through enjoying the scenery, the fresh air, and the freedom of the road.  With time and daylight still on our side, we decided to head over to the majestic Burney Falls in McArthur-Burney State Park.

DSCN2546DSCN2555DSCN2544

Burney Falls is spectacular! With feet still tired from Lassen, we forced ourselves down the path to the base of the falls, knowing we’d have to climb back up.  It was worth it though, to feel the mist on my face and the water’s coolness on my feet as I dipped them in the water. I was saddened when we had to leave.  I wanted more of this park and I vowed to return.  I see an RV trip to this park in my future.

After a good night’s sleep at the Hampton Inn in Red Bluff, we’re off to visit my daughter and precocious granddaughter for a few days in Medford, Oregon.  Stay tuned, more adventures to come!

Leave a comment